Wednesday, October 10, 2012

Maths & Throats - 2008 Split

Band : Maths & Throats
Album : Split
Release Year : 2008
Genre : Hardcore | Chaotic | Screamo

Tracklist :
1. Heavy Heart
2. Statue of Her
3. Vacant
4. Breathe as it were a Story
5. Solace

6. Headclouds
7. Loked Blue
8. Reign of Low
9. Comedown
10. Deathnaps

Split albums can be risky endeavors. One of the artists that partakes in the split typically overshadows the other artist, or the album may have no flow whatsoever, feeling disjointed or awkward in its juxtaposition of two separate musical entities. Throats and Maths, two bands from the UK, easily sidestep this problem by engaging in the same type of business. This is not to say that their sounds are identical. Maths creates frantic screamo, while Throats produces crusty hardcore. The unifying aspect of this split album is the overall attitude present. Both Throats and Maths specialize in nasty, furious music that is not afraid to get it's hands dirty. In other words, they're both very pissed off, and it shows.
The first 5 songs of this 10 song album are allotted to Maths. No time is wasted in kicking off their short but energetic collection of songs. Opener Heavy Hearts gets right in your face almost immediately, showcasing Maths' own frenetic brand of screamo. While there are a few clean sections here and there in Maths' songs, a respite is not truly given until the short 53 second interlude entitled Breathe As If It Were A Story rolls around. By this time, Maths has blazed through 3 blasts of speedy drums, screeched vocals, and heavy guitar work, all in 7 minutes. After Breathe.. segues into Solace, the closing track to Maths' side of the split, one is treated to another piece of chaotic screamo. Although a bit homogenous, the tangible emotion behind these tracks and their brevity warrant repeated listens.

After the final notes of Solace die out, a sludgy guitar enters. Throats begin their side of the split with a slow burner, entitled Headclouds. This track is almost reminiscent of some of Pelican's work, at least until vocals enter the track. The intensely hollered vocals are full of bile and vitriol, lending the ending segment of Headclouds a sense of urgency. Throats follow this track with a crusty freak out, complete with million-mile-an-hour drums and a short guitar solo(!). Throats' side of the split continues in this vein of insanely fast tracks full of anger, interspersed with short, tasteful breakdowns. The drummer has several very impressive moments concerning double bass work, and the vocalist is instantly comparable to one Jacob Bannon, spewing lyrics with throat-ripping intensity. The guitarists serve their purpose competently, serving up down-tuned, crunchy riffs that compliment the palpitating rhythms put forth by the drummer and held together by the bassist.
Throats and Maths have crafted a fine split album, one that might remind some listeners of Converge and Agoraphobic Nosebleed's The Poacher Diaries in its consistency and savagery. Both Throats and Maths are worth a listen individually, but you can get a nice feel for each bands' personality from this split alone. Short, heavy, and to the point, you won't want to miss out on this album.

No comments:

Post a Comment