Monday, April 4, 2011

Meek Is Murder - 2011 Algorithms

Band : Meek Is Murder
Album : Algorithms
Release Year : 2011
Genre : Mathcore | Chaotic | Experimental

Tracklist :
 1. Hello, World!
2. Return Void
3. Algorithms
4. Recursions
5. (Null)
6. Hope Springs Eternal (Spaghetti Code)
7. Sundowners
8. Foo
9. Dining Philosophers
10. Garbage Collector

Meek Is Murder is all about pissed-off hardcore ala Converge and The Red Chord. A mention of the latter band isn’t a surprise considering that vocalist/guitarist Mike Keller spent some time in The Red Chord a few years back. This debut LP is anger incarnated, packing a venomous punch into nine short tracks (plus a lengthy closer).
“Hello, World!” is a humorous opener that welcomes the listener to the chaos. “Return Void” reaffirms this position, as the abrasive guitars are paired with torrential rhythm work. In less than two minutes, the band has established their sound as a calculated sonic melee. This pace hardly levels out, a hailstorm of aggression that rains down on ever inch of this record. On songs like the title track, “Foo,” and “Dining Philosophers,” the noise-to-melody ratio favors the former.

With only twenty minutes to spare, there is a surprising assortment of melody. The two-minute tracks pack a mid-tempo style that let the musicians do more than just wail on their instruments. “(Null)” has an unexpected low-key piano outro capable of not compromising the intensity heard in the early goings. The extended feedback of “Sundowners” is a nasty treat for those who revel in static guitar buzzing. Over three times as long as the average song on “Algorithms,” “Garbage Collector” puts across the idea that the band is not strictly one-dimensional in their mindset. A brilliant jam session instrumental concludes the record on a dynamic note.

Usually, common complaints about an album like “Algorithms” is either length-related or monotony in the music. These two components are non-issues; the length is fine for the fast pace the band resides in and there is enough variety with the piano breaks and lead guitar breakdowns to avoid the latter. If anything, there should be more moments like the closing track and “(Null).” “Garbage Collector” is an atypical step taken by the band, a thrilling venture that should be explored on future releases. It shows maturity and a balance of sounds that is missing from the headstrong approach of the quick material.

No comments:

Post a Comment