Wednesday, September 28, 2011

The 20th anniversary of Nirvana's Nevermind

Released in September 1991, Nirvana's sophomore album and major label debut elevated Kurt Cobain, Krist Novoselic and Dave Grohl from a critically acclaimed Aberdeen, Washington, cult band to generational spokesmen who'd unwittingly created a cultural shift and musical touchstone. Rising to No. 1 the world over by year's end and ultimately selling over 30 million copies worldwide, Nevermind would come to be much more than one of the most successful and influential albums of its or any era. As the album that returned unaffected rock ’n’ roll integrity and passion to the top of the charts, Nevermind would prove a singular inspiration to fans and musicians alike over the last two decades--and will undoubtedly do so for generations to come.

This is my favorite band and favorite album of all time, to celebrate its 20th anniversary lot of musicians/artist or magazine perform to cover all the songs on Nevermind. Well here's the view of them. Enjoy!!!

SPIN Tribute to Nirvana's 'Nevermind' 2011 :
01. MEAT PUPPETS - "Smells Like Teen Spirit"
05. THE VASELINES - "Lithium"
06. AMANDA PALMER - "Polly"
07. SURFER BLOOD - "Territorial Pissings"
08. FOXY SHAZAM - "Drain You"
11. TELEKINESIS - "On a Plain"
12. JEFF THE BROTHERHOOD - "Something in the Way"
13. EMA - "Endless Nameless"

SPIN's August issue pays tribute to the 20th anniversary of Nirvana's Nevermind, and as part of our package we tapped some of our favorite contemporary artists to cover the influential album's 13 songs, in their original order. The download is called Newermind, and it's our gift to you. We were happy that two of Kurt Cobain's personal faves -- the Meat Puppets and the Vaselines, both of whom Nirvana famously covered during their MTV Unplugged taping -- joined our effort. Below you'll find the complete album tracklist, with reflections from each contributing artist. -SpinMagazine

VA - 2011 Kerrang! Presents Nevermind Forever :
01. Smells Like Teen Spirit - Arcane Roots
02. In Bloom - Framing Hanley
03. Come As You Are - Deaf Havana
04. Breed - Rise To Remain
05. Lithium - Francesqa
06. Polly - Young Guns
07. Territorial Pissings - The Dillinger Escape Plan
08. Drain You - Kids In Glass Houses
09. Lounge Act - Evile
10. Stay Away - The Blackout
11. On A Plain - Frank Turner
12. Something In The Way - Spycatcher
13. Endless, Nameless - Dangerous!
14. Sliver (bonus track) - We Are The Ocean

Exclusive 14-track Nirvana covers CD from Kerrang! Magazine.

 Kevin Devine - 2011 Nevermind :
1. Smells Like Teen Spirit
2. In Bloom
3. Come As You Are
4. Breed
5. Lithium
6. Polly
7. Territorial Pissings
8. Drain You
9. Lounge Act
10. Stay Away
11. On A Plain
12. Something In The Way

Kevin Devine has posted his cover of Nirvana‘s full-length album “Nevermind” for free download on his site  to the fans across the globe. One song would be too normal for this artist , so instead he covered the entire album.

VA – Forevermind: X103′s 20th Anniversary Tribute to Nevermind :
01. Smells Like Teen Spirit - Noctura
02. In Bloom - Phoenix on the Faultline
03. Come As You Are - Breakdown Kings
04. Breed - Devil to Pay
05. Lithium - Jenn Cristy
06. Polly - Red Line Chemistry
07. Territorial Pissings - New Politics
08. Drain You - Alter Ego
09. Lounge Act - Neon Love Life
10. Stay Away - Oreo Jones
11. On A Plain - Monofiction
12. Something In The Way - Judith Haze
13. Endless Nameless - Mystiquos Quintet

As a radio station we do not get the chance to pay respect to some of the great bands we play on the radio, let alone a landmark American music recording like Nevermind. The basic idea was approaching both local and national bands for this tribute album and asking them the question, “If you woke up one morning and wrote a song off of the Nevermind album, what would the song sound like?” The results are found in this download.
We hope you enjoy what the artists on this tribute created from the original blueprint. -x103
 Little Roy - 2011 Battle For Seattle :
01 - Dive
02 - Heart-Shaped Box
03 - Very Ape
04 - Come As You Are
05 - Sliver
06 - Polly
07 - On A Plain
08 - About A Girl
09 - Son Of A Gun
10 - Lithium

Little Roy has announced details of the release of his album, Battle For Seattle, through Ark Recordings on Monday 5th September 2011. A collection of 10 songs recorded by Nirvana in a reggae style, the album is the brainchild of Prince Fatty, aka Mike Pelanconi and the Mutant Hi-Fi, aka Nick Coplowe, and it features the vocal talents of Little Roy, one of the great singers from Jamaican music's classic era in the 1960s and '70s, who cut tunes with Studio One, Matador, Prince Buster and Lee 'Scratch' Perry.

No comments:

Post a Comment