Saturday, February 26, 2011

Marnie Stern - 2010 Marnie Stern

Band : Marnie Stern
Album : Marnie Stern
Release Year : 2010
Genre : Mathrock / Noise / Indie / Experimental

Tracklist :
1. For Ash
2. Nothing Left
3. Transparency is the New Mystery
4. Risky Biz
5. Female Guitar Players are the New Black
6. Gimme
7. Cinco De Mayo
8. Building a Body
9. Her Confidence
10. The Things You Notice

Marnie Stern's hyperactive finger-tapping guitar technique is flashy and impressive when taken at face value, but her records are memorable because they're more about earnest expression than technical demonstration. Her complex arrangements evoke emotional turmoil as the songs ping-pong between excitement and panic, ecstasy and despair, extraordinary confidence and harrowing self-doubt. It's intense stuff, and given its jittery rhythms and extreme treble, it's not always easy on the ears. Still, Stern's songs invite a strong bond with the listener-- for all its charged-up rock power, this is intimate music. It's like jumping headfirst into someone's psyche.

Marnie Stern the album mirrors Marnie Stern, the woman. Birthed during a challenging period in her life, the self-titled Marnie Stern is a compendium of life stories both bitter and sweet. From ballads to her signature pop guitar-tapping style, Stern and long-time co-conspirator Zach Hill (Hella) have churned out (for lack of a better word) an enormous album that will further cement Stern as a rising star in today's progressive music landscape. Stern also enlists the bass talents of psych-rock Canadian musician Matthew Flegel (of the band Women) and up-and-coming mixer Lars Stalfors (Mars Volta, Funeral Party) resulting in Stern stepping up her sonic game and revealing a mature and more focused side of herself.

No comments:

Post a Comment