Sunday, October 7, 2012

Exotic Animal Petting Zoo - 2012 Tree of Tongues

Band : Exotic Animal Petting Zoo
Album : Tree of Tongues
Release Year : 2012
Genre : Experimental | Mathcore

Tracklist :
1. Pharmacokinetic
2. Thorough.Modern.
3. You Make Wonderful Pictures
4. Through the Thicket... Across Endless Mountains
5. M.U.M.B.
6. Apis Bull
7. The Great Explainer
8. Kaspar Hauser Could See the Stars in the Daytime
9. Gypsy Among the Pines
10. Whores of Babel
11. Arcology

The biggest problem with Exotic Animal Petting Zoo to date has been whether to take them seriously or not. With their outlandish name matched vibrantly with their song titles it was often disconcerting to put hope in a band that sang about “Richard Dean Anderson/One Is In Sheol, the Pit”. So with their sophomore album all (two or three) eyes were on the band to deliver something meaningful, something “fans” could legitimately defend. Well Tree of Tongues is here and nothing is answered but that may be the point. Tongues dives into a rabbit hole everyone was afraid to acknowledge, but many knew hid wonders. It envelops the listener almost immediately into a world only mad men live and is amplified by its stunning beauty. Though faults lay in its predictability and almost refusal to sneak back into the crazy song structures their debut was heralded for, Tongues mostly succeeds because, though normal in its appearance, it’s batshit fucking crazy. -controlled (sputnicmusic)

No comments:

Post a Comment