Saturday, March 19, 2011

Gay For Johnny Depp - 2011 What Doesn't Kill You, Eventually Kills You

Band : Gay For Johnny Depp
Album : What Doesn't Kill You, Eventually Kills You
Release Year : 2011
Genre : Screamo / Spazzcore / Experimental

Tracklist :
01. Santa Claus, The Easter Bunny And Artistic Integrity
02. Suckcess
03. She Has The Hottest Limp (It’s All Noize)
04. Humility Is For People Who Don’t Comprehend Their Own Mortality
05. We Are The World? Burn It Down!
06. Rod Don’t Surf
07. Nine Inch Males (Born To Hate)
08. No, I’m Married To Jesus. Now Keep Your Fucking Hands Off Of Him.
09. Pink Flag
10. What Doesn’t Kill You, Eventually Kills You
11. Cum On Feel The Boiz

Given their initial conception as a band obsessed with the homoerotic appeal of their A-list namesake, the chances of Gay For Johnny Depp having a crack at a ‘serious’ hardcore record seemed slimmer than those of Satan acquiring chilblains. Previous full-length ‘The Politics Of Cruelty’ hinted at a capacity to focus on topics other than sexual depravity, but on ‘What Doesn’t Kill You…’ frontman Marty Leopard is a veritable fountain of bilious disgust. The frantic, high-pitched vocals of old are still present and correct, but they’re also tempered by frequent downbeat melodic refrains, echoing the likes of Nirvana more than, say, The Blood Brothers.

Musically too, the band display a staggering diversity; ‘Suckcess’, to take but one example, jabs you in eye with visceral yelps of nervous tension, before head-butting the pedal board and igniting an elephantine dominator of a riff. The undoubted highlight, however, is the title track. Menacing, slow-burn slide guitars are swept aside as Leopard loses his rag in spectacular fashion, passionately asserting, “I’m not an idiot! I’m not an idiot! I’m not a fucking douche bag!” as he rails against the political and financial elite still unconvincingly attempting to dupe the little man. Shit, when did Gay For Johnny Depp GFJD become Refused?

No comments:

Post a Comment