Monday, April 25, 2011

Girlfight - 2010 Infinite Carcass

Band : Girlfight
Album : Infinite Carcass
Release Year : 2010
Genre : Experimental | Mathcore | Chaotic | Hardcore

Tracklist : 
1. Doom Route
2. Sick Day
3. Vice Precedence
4. Feeble Crown
5. Halcyon
6. Seven Cycles
7. Milk Brain
8. Mange Event
9. Executive Death
10. Shitty Lazarus

If you take a look at any respectable band throughout their career, you’ll see that it took them a long time to get to the level they are at in that moment. Sometimes that can take up to 5 or 6 years. However, there are some exceptions to the rule.
Girlfight’s first full-length, Infinite Carcass, is a testament to the old adage “the rules were meant to be broken”. This album avidly shows that the band has highly evolved since their start in April 2008; their first EP, Haggard, doesn’t hold a candle to Infinite Carcass.

After a revolving door of member changes, Girlfight has maintained a 4-piece lineup devoid of frills. Much like a mother cat carrying her kittens, Infinite Carcass grabs you by the scruff of your neck and takes you on the wildest of all rides for 12 intense minutes. The album starts off with the intense “Doom Route”, which hits you right in the face off the bat.
All of the songs flow perfectly, leaving the listener with absolutely no downtime to recuperate and prepare for the next track. Girlfight provides an arsenal of their signature blistering-speed short songs, with the longest track coming in just under two minutes. The band has expanded their dynamics on this record as well, with some crushing slow jams such as the back-to-back brutality of “Halcyon” and “Seven Cycles”.

Looking at the band overall, each member has honed his individual musicianship into something massive. The biggest change I’ve picked up on is the change in vocal style by singer Dave Watt. His screams have more of a polish to them as opposed to the raw howls that have come on their two previous EPs. This isn’t a bad thing, mind you, as it fits with the songwriting and production perfectly.

No comments:

Post a Comment