Sunday, April 24, 2011

Voyage In Coma - 2011 You Appear Alongside Me

Band : Voyage In Coma
Album : You Appear Alongside Me
Release Year : 2011
Genre : Screamo | Post-Rock

Tracklist :
01 Predation
02 The Ethanol Bomb
03 Nervosa.mp3
04 Waiting in the Wings
05 The Valleys Fill with Lavender
06 Fissure

New vocalist Steven Kroll is a worthy replacement for Joe Trevisan and his screams are showcased throughout the EP. Voyage in Coma really excel, however, when their instrumental excellence is showcased as well. For example, the conclusion of "The Valleys Fill with Lavender" is bombastic and noisy, placing Kroll's shrieks of "Brother!" lower in the mix, under layers of guitar, bass, and chaotic drumming. It's moments like these that elevate the EP above other releases in the genre. "Waiting in the Wings" is another standout track, beginning with a slow two-minute instrumental intro in which melancholy soaring lead guitar melodies build to a sudden tempo change. This results in one of the EP's more dramatic moments. Instances of musical mastery like the aforementioned prove Voyage in Coma's potential is astounding. If they continue to grow as a band, it's likely they will gain much more (deserved) recognition in the current screamo scene.

No comments:

Post a Comment