Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Hail the Sun - 2011 POW! Right In The Kisser!

Band : Hail the Sun
Album : POW! Right In The Kisser!
Release Year : 2011
Genre : Post-Hardcore | Progressive | Experimental

Tracklist :
1.Ready Or Not, There I Go   
2.Dinosaur, God Hates It When We Think   
4.Sunny Day   
6.There's Plenty Of Fish In The Sea (Too Bad You're Not A Fish)   
7.Sleep Now, And Forever Wet Your Dreams   
8.Crying Is Only Manly If Splinters Come Out

Hail the Sun formed with three friends who have been playing together for almost a decade. The sound they formed has a seductive touch, that invites ones ears to come along. Each band member brings their own style to the party, which forms a chemistry that is much more than a compound. Influences include only life, and modern mishaps and rendezvous. Musically and lyrically these guys go at it more than rabbits, more and more defining a unique sound. As the globe keeps turning, the sun keeps shining, and they keep hailing, harder than ice.

The album’s name might make you think twice before giving it a serious listen, but the sound this band has created is anything but a joke. Falling into both the progressive rock and post-hardcore genres, Hail The Sun’s debut is a blend of rough vocals almost identical to those of Anthony Green and intricate musical parts that resemble those of Coheed and Cambria and Boys Night Out’s Trainwreck.

The songs overall are very well written, balanced and catchy. Although it is a first release by the band, the only amateur aspect is the recording, which is to be expected and doesn’t take anything away from the record.  My only complaint about  P!RITK! is that most of the songs seem almost drowned out by the drums, at certain points the drumming overpowers the vocals. With that said, POW! Right in The Kisser! offers a refreshing and original sound that somehow fits into today’s “scene” without hiding behind breakdowns and pointless lyrics.

No comments:

Post a Comment