Sunday, April 22, 2012

State Faults - 2012 Desolate Peaks

Band : State Faults
Album : Desolate Peaks
Release Year : 2012
Genre : Screamo | Post-Hardcore

Tracklist :
 1. Sleepwalker
2. Cities
3. Arrowhead
4. Shiver
5. Faultlines
6. Wayfarer
7. Teeth And Bones
8. Sleeptalker
9. Hallways
10. Vespers
11. Skeletons

Written over the span of close to a year, Desolate Peaks, is the debut full-length from State Faults. The band delivers on the album title imagery with an intense emotional landscape rarely traveled. Drawing upon elements of 90's emo and post-hardcore, State Faults is explosive but not to the extent where it overpowers the nuances of the band's songwriting. These songs are always able to breathe to their full potential. The band is adventurous and always pushing forward but never choose to wallow in grandiosity. On Desolate Peaks State Faults is able to find a perfect balance between craft and composition.

Formed in early 2010, State Faults consists of four soulmates with a DIY ethic trying to make honest and emotionally charged music. Huddled together in the California heat, the band created a tightly knit sound which gave birth to an impressive self-released debut EP, Head In The Clouds. Released in late 2010, the EP quickly spread through word of mouth and the band began to cultivate a devoted following. In what can only be described as an advancement of the sound created on Head In The Clouds, the band's Tiny Engines debut, Desolate Peaks, takes State Faults to new uncharted levels.

No comments:

Post a Comment