Friday, March 11, 2011

The Caution Children - 2008 Vacations

Band : The Caution Children
Album : Vacations
Release Year : 2008
Genre : Screamo / Post-Rock / Shoegaze / Experimental

Tracklist :
1. Separate Fears
2. The Lion Eating Poet In The Stone Den
3. Like The Ocean Floor, I'm Thinking
4. Slippery Strange
5. The Near Room
6. Continue, Please
7. Our Movement In Squares
8. House Language
9. Long Gaps And Little Gasps
10. Clever Hans

There’s something special about the way this band writes their music.  Ian (guitar) and John (bass) both live in Florida, Nick (vocals) usually lives in Berkley, CA with his girlfriend, and Eddie (drums) lives in Athens, GA.  They work collaboratively by sending each other snippets of ideas and building on them.
Stylistically their music straddles the line between post rock and screamo – the vocals are artsy and never feel dishonest or over dramatic.  Ian’s guitars are heavily saturated with delay and reverb making volume swells and buildups, two techniques this band is really good at, feel monumental.
Apparently Ian recorded the entire album using his Mac’s internal microphone.  The quality that he was able to achieve is mind blowing.

No comments:

Post a Comment