Friday, March 11, 2011

Circus! Circus! - 2008 Brooklyn Nightlife

Band : Circus! Circus!
Album : Brooklyn Nightlife
Release Year : 2008
Genre : Post-Hardcore / Screamo

Tracklist :
1. First We Feast, Then We Felony
2. Amputee Ball
3. Telepathic Chat
4. Fact Monster
5. India
6. Jehova's Fitness
7. Cellular Dystrophy
8. I Went On A Date With Ted Kennedy And All I Got Was This Swimsuit
9. Eden In Sweden
10. Get Your Dog Out Of My Salmon Bushes

Screamo was derived from hardcore punk. A lot of people seem to forget that aspect of the genre as screamo is constantly getting used more and more for hardcore and metalcore acts. With the last glimmer of old school screamo chaos broken up in the form of the late and great Hot Cross, there is thankfully a just as capable band that is willing to step up and fill their shoes. Circus! Circus! may sound like a horrible lounge act of a name but these boys don’t clown around.

“Brooklyn Nightlife” wastes no time on getting atmospheric like so many bands do with unnecessary intro tracks. Opting for a great picking intro they immediately break into a drumbeat and then suddenly a voice cries out in a wail that is somewhere between a scream and a yell. Hell breaks loose as everything tumbles into a chaotic throwdown that shifts and jitters more than grandpa’s vintage Ford Model T. I cannot guarantee you won’t bust a few lamps in your house before the first song is over. Every song on this album has its own distinct melody and pacing. It might feel melded together on your first listen but you’ll be able to recognize each of the tracks styles the further you listen.
It’s surprising that these guys have yet to be recognized fully. They are resurrecting a style of music that is on the verge of extinction and hopefully there will be more bands that can pull it off as well as these guys can, then perhaps we’ll have hope for real screamo. If you were a fan of Hot Cross then I recommend this CD in the fullest, you will not regret it. For those of you looking for something a little more complex in their music than what most people are offering right now, this is a compelling listen. For anyone who doesn’t like hardcore, stay the hell away; this is take no prisoners craziness that might split your ears and overload your brain. If you don’t like hardcore, learn to like it so you can get into this CD.


No comments:

Post a Comment