Wednesday, November 30, 2011

Bad Brains - 1983 Rock For Light

Band : Bad Brains
Album : Rock For Light
Release Year : 1983
Genre : Hardcore | Punk | Reggae

Tracklist :
Side A
1. "Coptic Times"
2. "Attitude"
3. "We Will Not"
4. "Sailin' On"
5. "Rally 'Round Jah Throne"
6. "Right Brigade"
7. "F.V.K."
8. "Riot Squad"
9. "The Meek Shall Inherit the Earth"

Side B
1. "Joshua's Song"
2. "Banned in D.C."
3. "How Low Can a Punk Get?"
4. "Big Takeover"
5. "I and I Survive"
6. "Destroy Babylon"
7. "Rock for Light"
8. "At the Movies"

Rock for Light is the second official full-length album by hardcore punk pioneers Bad Brains. It was produced by Ric Ocasek of The Cars. The 1991 re-issue was remixed by Ocasek and bass player Darryl Jenifer. The re-issued version has some extra tracks, an altered track order, significantly different mixes and, on most tracks, a speed increase of the master which results in a raising of the pitch by one-half step.

The album contains a number of re-recorded songs from the band's first album, Bad Brains, released the previous year, as well as a number of new hardcore punk and reggae tracks. It was the last Bad Brains album to feature only these two styles of music, as the band eventually experimented with funk, soul and heavy metal.

It was the band's last album for three years as Bad Brains broke up after its release, the first of several such break-ups during their career.

The original mix is only available on the out-of-print PVC Records version. However, some of the original mixes appear on the recent Banned in D.C. compilation.

No comments:

Post a Comment