Thursday, November 3, 2011

Bad Brains - 1982 Bad Brains

Band : Bad Brains
Album : Bad Brains
Release Year : 1982
Genre : Hardcore | Punk | Reggae

Tracklist :
01 "Sailin' On"
02 "Don't Need It"
03 "Attitude"
04 "The Regulator"
05 "Banned in D.C."
06 "Jah Calling"
07 "Supertouch/Shitfit"
08 "Leaving Babylon"
09 "Fearless Vampire Killers"
10 "I"
11 "Big Take Over"
12 "Pay to Cum"
13 "Right Brigade"
14 "I Luv I Jah"
15 "Intro"
1996 re-issue bonus track
16 "Jah the Conqueror"

Bad Brains is an American hardcore punk band formed in Washington, D.C., in 1977. They are widely regarded as among the pioneers of hardcore punk, though the band's members objected to this term to describe their music. They are also an adept reggae band, while later recordings featured elements of other genres like funk, heavy metal, hip-hop and soul. Bad Brains are followers of the Rastafari movement.

Originally formed as a jazz fusion ensemble under the name Mind Power, Bad Brains developed a very fast and intense punk rock sound which came to be labeled "hardcore", and was often played faster and more emphatically than the music of many of their peers. The unique factor of the band's music was the fact that they played more complex rhythms than that of other hardcore punk bands, also adapting non-punk style guitar riffs and solos into their songs.

Bad Brains have released 8 studio albums (one of which is entirely composed of instrumental versions of their past material). The band broke up and reformed several times over the years, sometimes with different singers or drummers. The band's classic and current lineup is singer H.R. (Human Rights), guitarist Dr. Know, bassist Darryl Jenifer, and drummer Earl Hudson, H.R.'s younger brother.

Bad Brains is the first full-length studio album recorded by Bad Brains. Adam Yauch of Beastie Boys has been quoted as saying that this album is "the best punk/hardcore album of all time". It was originally released on cassette only but has since been re-released by ROIR on both CD and vinyl.

When the album was released in 1982, fans and critics alike were stunned to learn that the musicians behind this album - one of the fastest albums of all time upon its release - were religious African-American Rastafarians who also were skilled at reggae. The album was a crucial step in the formation of hardcore punk and the eventual fusion of hard rock and reggae adopted later by bands like Sublime, Fishbone, and 311.

Many of the album's tracks were re-recorded for their 1983 follow-up, Rock for Light. In-Effect Records released a CD version with the same track listing entitled Attitude: The ROIR Sessions in 1991. 

No comments:

Post a Comment