Wednesday, March 9, 2011

Dropkick Murphys – 2011 Going Out In Style

*By Request

Band : Dropkick Murphys
Album : Going Out In Style
Release Year : 2011
Genre : Punk Rock

Tracklist :
01. Hang em High
02. Going Out In Style
03. The Hardest Mile
04. Cruel
05. Memorial Day
06. Climbing A Chair To Bed
07. Broken Hymns
08. Deeds Not Words
09. Take Em Down
10. Sunday Hardcore Matinee
11. 1953
12. Peg O My Heart
13. The Irish Rover

 Dropkick Murphys fans rejoice! The band, probably best known for supplying the Boston Red Sox the song “Tessie” for the 2004 season, released their seventh studio album, Going Out in Style, on Tuesday, March 1st. Dropkick Murphys fans met the release of Going Out in Style with much anticipation as the album is the group’s first new studio record in three years. The bulk of the 13 tracks on Going Out in Style will leave you wanting to call your friends, grab some beers, and celebrate life.  
Going Out in Style is a concept album which follows a fictional character named Cornelius Larkin through his life’s journey. Cornelius Larkin combines characteristics from all seven band members and their families’ histories. Interestingly enough, the Cornelius Larkin character didn’t really draw me in. The album, however, still did. Perhaps I just have an overactive imagination but I found many of the songs able to stand on their own merits. These merits range from partying to political issues.
On first listen many of the songs stimulate the party vibe due to their upbeat tempos and cheerful vocal tones. The title track “Going Out in Style” garners a complete party vibe with the song’s lyrics. The chorus line “I couldn’t really give a shit, I’m going out in style!” acts as the perfect motto for anyone who wants to forget his worries and have some fun.
The timing for Going Out in Style’s release couldn’t have been any better in regards to the song “Take ‘Em Down.” Collective bargaining and unions have become hot topics in the news. “Take ‘Em Down” offers support for unions. Lines like “When the boss comes calling don’t believe their lies” and “When the boss comes calling we got to organize” demonstrates distrust for management. The song’s message can be summed up with the lyric “We got to take the bastards down.”

Overall the Dropkick Murphys’ Going Out in Style album has a lot to offer. If you like upbeat tempo music, Going Out in Style will be a must have for you. If you enjoy the authentic Irish sound of the Dropkick Murphys, you will also want get your own copy of Going Out in Style.

No comments:

Post a Comment